Member states:

Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar (Burma), Vietnam

Central texts:

ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) (Signed 8 August 1967)

Treaty of Amity and Cooperation (Signed into force 24 February 1976)

AFTA Agreement (Signed 28 January 1992; Entry into force 17 May 2010)

ASEAN Charter (Signed 20 November 2007; Entry into force 15 December 2008)

ASEAN Human Rights Declaration (Signed 18 November 2012)

Main institutions:

Declared goals

(Source: ASEAN Charter Article 1)

The Purposes of ASEAN are:
1. To maintain and enhance peace, security and stability and further strengthen peace oriented values in the region;
2. To enhance regional resilience by promoting greater political, security, economic and sociocultural cooperation;
3. To preserve Southeast Asia as a Nuclear Weapon Free Zone and free of all other weapons of mass destruction;
4. To ensure that the peoples and Member States of ASEAN live in peace with the world at large in a just, democratic and harmonious environment;
5. To create a single market and production base which is stable, prosperous, highly competitive and economically integrated with effective facilitation for trade and investment in which there is free flow of goods, services and investment; facilitated movement of business persons, professionals, talents and labour; and freer flow of
6. To alleviate poverty and narrow the development gap within ASEAN through mutual assistance and cooperation;
7. To strengthen democracy, enhance good governance and the rule of law, and to promote and protect human rights and fundamental freedoms, with due regard to the rights and responsibilities of the Member States of ASEAN;
8. To respond effectively, in accordance with the principle of comprehensive security, to all forms of threats, transnational crimes and transboundary challenges;
9. To promote sustainable development so as to ensure the protection of the region’s environment, the sustainability of its natural resources, the preservation of its cultural heritage and the high quality of life of its peoples;
10. To develop human resources through closer cooperation in education and life-long learning, and in science and technology, for the empowerment of the peoples of ASEAN and for the strengthening of the ASEAN Community;
11. To enhance the well-being and livelihood of the peoples of ASEAN by providing them with equitable access to opportunities for human development, social welfare and justice;
12. To strengthen cooperation in building a safe, secure and drug-free environment for
the peoples of ASEAN;
13. To promote a people-oriented ASEAN in which all sectors of society are encouraged to participate in, and benefit from, the process of ASEAN integration and community building;
14. To promote an ASEAN identity through the fostering of greater awareness of the
diverse culture and heritage of the region; and
15. To maintain the centrality and proactive role of ASEAN as the primary driving force in
its relations and cooperation with its external partners in a regional architecture that is
open, transparent and inclusive.

Other institutions

Adopted measures