Member states:
Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, St Kitts & Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent & Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago

Central texts:

Treaty of Chaguaramas (Signed 4 July 1973)

Revised Treaty Establishing the Caribbean Community and Common Market (Signed 5 July 2001; Entry into force 1 January 2006)

Main institutions:

Declared goals

(Source: Revised Treaty Establishing the Caribbean Community and Common Market Article 6)

(a) improved standards of living and work;

(b) full employment of labour and other factors of production;

(c) accelerated, co-ordinated and sustained economic development and convergence;

(d) expansion of trade and economic relations with third States;

(e) enhanced levels of international competitiveness;

(f) organisation for increased production and productivity;

(g) the achievement of a greater measure of economic leverage and effectiveness of Member States in dealing with third States, groups of States and entities of any description;

(h) enhanced co-ordination of Member States’ foreign and [foreign] economic policies; and

(i) enhanced functional co-operation, including:

  • more efficient operation of common services and activities for the benefit of its peoples;
  • accelerated promotion of greater understanding among its peoples and the advancement of their social, cultural and technological development;
  • intensified activities in areas such as health, education, transportation, telecommunications

Other institutions

Adopted measures