Homepage: cis.minsk.by

Member states: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan

Central texts:

The Charter of the Commonwealth of Independent States (Signed 22 January 1993; Entry into force 22 January 1994)

The Commonwealth of Independent States Free Trade Zone Agreement (Signed 18 October 2011)

Main institutions:

Declared goals

(Source: The Charter of the Commonwealth of Independent States Article 2)

  1. Ensuring cooperation in political, economic, ecological, cultural and other areas between the CIS member states
  2. Balanced economic and social development of member states within common economic zone; between-states cooperation and integration
  3. Ensuring the provision of rights and main freedoms in accordance with core norms of international law and OSCE documents
  4. Cooperation between the CIS member states to promote world peace and safety, taking effective measures to reduce military spending, liquidation of nuclear and other forms of weapons of mass destruction, working towards achieving disarmament on a global scale
  5. Promoting free communication, contacts and mobility between member states
  6. Cooperation in legal relations and mutual help in legal matters
  7. Seeking peaceful solutions to conflicts between the CIS member states


Adopted measures