comesa logo


Member states: Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Egypt, Libya, Sudan, Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius, Seychelles, Burundi, Kenya, Malawi, Rwanda, Uganda, Southern Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Central Africa, Democratic Republic of the Congo

Central texts:

Treaty Establishing the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (English, French and Portuguese) (Signed 5 November 1993; Entry into force 8 December 1994)

Tripartite Free Trade Area Agreement (Signed 10 June 2015)

Main institutions:

Declared goals

(Source: COMESA Treaty Article 3)

The aims and objectives of the Common Market shall be:

(a)   to  attain  sustainable  growth  and  development  of  the  Member  States  by  promoting  a more   balanced   and   harmonious development   of   its   production   and   marketing structures;

(b) to promote joint development in all fields of economic activity and the joint adoption of macro-economic  policies  and  programmes  to raise  the  standard  of  living  of  its peoples and to foster closer relations among its Member States;

(c)  to co-operate in the creation of an enabling environment for foreign, cross border and domestic  investment  including  the  joint promotion  of  research  and  adaptation  of  science and technology for development;

(d) to  co-operate  in  the  promotion  of  peace,  security  and  stability  among  the  Member States in order to enhance economic development in the region;

(e) to  co-operate  in  strengthening  the  relations  between  the  Common  Market  and  the rest of the world and the adoption of common positions in international fora; and

(f) to contribute towards the establishment, progress and the realisation of the objectives of the African Economic Community.

Other institutions
  • The Inter-governmental Committee
  • The Twelve Technical Committees
  • The Consultative Committee of the Business Community and other Interest Groups
  • Preferential Trade Area Bank
  • COMESA Business Council

Adopted measures