Homepage: efta.int

Member states: EU member states and Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway

Central texts:

Agreement on the European Economic Area (Entry into force: 1 January 1994)

Protocol adjusting the Agreement on the European Economic Area

Main institutions:

Declared goals

(Source: Agreement on the EEA Article 1)

1. The aim of this Agreement of association is to promote a continuous and balanced strengthening of trade and economic relations between the Contracting Parties with equal conditions of competition, and the respect of the same rules, with a view to creating a homogeneous European Economic Area, hereinafter referred to as the EEA.
In order to attain the objectives set out in paragraph 1, the association shall entail, in accordance with the provisions of this Agreement :
(a) the free movement of goods;
(b) the free movement of persons;
(c) the free movement of services;
(d) the free movement of capital;
(e) the setting up of a system ensuring that competition is not distorted and that the rules thereon are equally respected; as well as
(f) closer cooperation in other fields, such as research and development, the environment, education and social policy.


Adopted measures