Homepage: gcc-sg.org

Member states:  Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates

Central texts:

Gulf Cooperation Council Charter (Signed 11 November 1981)

Main institutions:

Declared goals

(Source: The Cooperation Council Charter Article 4)

  1. To effect co-ordination, integration and inter-connection between member states in all fields in order to achieve unity between them.
  2. To deepen and strengthen relations, links and areas of cooperation now prevailing between their peoples in various fields.
  3. To formulate similar regulations in various fields including the following:
    • Economic and financial affairs.
    • Commerce, customs and communications.
    • Education and culture.
    • Social and health affairs.
    • Information and tourism.
    • Legislative and administrative affairs.
  4. To stimulate scientific and technological progress in the fields of industry , mining, agriculture , water and animal resources: to establish scientific research : to establish joint ventures and encourage cooperation by the private sector for the good of their peoples.

Other institutions


  • Patent Office


Adopted measures