sacu logo


Member states: Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland

Central texts:

Customs Agreement between the government of the Union of South African and the Territories of Basutoland, Swaziland, and Bechuanaland Protectorate (Signed 30 Jul 1910)

Customs Union Agreement between the Governments of The Republic of South Africa, The Republic of Botswana, The Kingdom of Lesotho and The Kingdom of Swaziland (Signed  11 Dec 1969; Entry into force 1 March 1970)

South African Customs Union Agreement (21 Oct 2002)

Main institutions:

Declared goals

(Source: SACU Agreement Article 2)

  1. To facilitate the cross-border movement of goods between the territories of the Member States;
  2. To create effective, transparent and democratic institutions which will ensure equitable trade benefits to Member States;
  3. To promote conditions of fair competition in the Common Customs Area;
  4. To substantially increase investment opportunities in the Common Customs Area;
  5. To enhance the economic development, diversification, industrialization and competitiveness of Member States;
  6. To promote the integration of Member States into the global economy through enhanced trade and investment;
  7. To facilitate the equitable sharing of revenue arising from customs, excise and additional duties levied by Member States; and
  8. To facilitate the development of common policies and strategies

Other institutions
Adopted measures