Member states:

Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Central texts:

Declaration & Treaty of SADC (Signed 17 August 1992)

Agreement Amending the Treaty (Signed 14 August 2001; Entry into force 11 June 2016)

SADC Common Agenda (Signed 8 September)

Tripartite Free Trade Area Agreement (Signed 10 June 2015)

Main institutions:

Declared goals

(Source: SADC Treaty Article 5)

  • Achieve development and economic growth, alleviate poverty, enhance the standard and quality of life of the people of Southern Africa and support the socially disadvantaged through Regional Integration;
  • Evolve common political values, systems and institutions;
  • Promote and defend peace and security;
  • Promote self-sustaining development on the basis of collective self-reliance, and the inter-dependence of Member States;
  • Achieve complementarity between national and regional strategies and programmes;
  • Promote and maximise productive employment and utilisation of resources of the region;
  • Achieve sustainable utilisation of natural resources and effective protection of the environment;
  • Strengthen and consolidate the long-standing historical, social and cultural affinities and links among the people of the Region.

Other institutions
Adopted measures