Homepage: uemoa.int

Member states: Benin, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal, Togo

Central texts:

Treaty on the West African Economic and Monetary Union (French) (Signed January 10, 1994; Entry into force on August 1, 1994)

Revised Treaty of the West African Economic and Monetary Union (French) (Signed and entered into force 29 January 2003)

Main institutions:

Declared goals

(Source: Revised Treaty of the West African Economic and Monetary Union Article 4)

  • Strengthen the competitiveness of the financial and economic activities of the Member States within the framework of an open and competitive market and a harmonised and rationalised legal environment
  • Secure the convergence of the economic policies of Member States through instituting a procedure for multilateral surveillance
  • Create a common market between Member States based on the free movement of persons, goods, services, capital and the right of establishment for persons carrying out an independent or salaried activity as well as a common external tariff and commercial policy
  • Coordinate national sectoral policies through the establishing of common action and, eventually, common policies particularly in the following fields : human resources, spatial development, agriculture, energy, industry, mining, transport, infrastructure and telecommunications.

Harmonise, insofar as it is necessary for the good functioning of the common market, the legislation of the Member States and particularly taxation regimes.

Other institutions

Adopted measures